Back in 2008, I met a dear friend while taking a ride in the Children’s Hospital elevator in Seattle, WA.  Josie looked me directly in the eye and said, “Bone Marrow Transplant.”

I answered, “Yes.  How did you know?”

She was with her daughter Kelli.  Josie told me that she was in my shoes the prior year.  Kelli had survived and was back for her “year 1” doctors appointments.  Josie and Kelli have continued to inspire me to put one foot in front of the other when I felt I couldn’t.  I am so thankful that my loving Savior brought them to me.

Josie asked if Lydia could be a part of her fundraiser this year, “Faces of Hope.”  She has had made an inspirational quilt and I could not be happier for my daughter to be a part of it.

Here is Josie’s letter and photo of the quilt:

This year we celebrate many milestones with our childhood cancer survivors.  We are featuring TWELVE of our warriors on a quilt with all proceeds going to RELAY FOR LIFE and the AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY.

We have put together a quilt in honor of these kids and are taking donations to benefit the AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY and Relay For Life.  For every dollar donated we will put your name in a drawing for this one of a kind quilt.

We will be drawing the winner on March 15, 2012.

We will also be drawing for a crocheted afghan in the colors of purple and white.

We understand that with the tough economic times that some people will not be able to donate and that is ok.  If you could pass this on to someone you know that might be willing to donate even a little bit, that would be appreciated.

Every dollar we raise will go to help finding a cure for cancer.  If it were not for the researchers and the doctors and nurses, our children would not be alive today.   There is still more research to be done and we hope that every dollar we raise will bring us that much closer to a cure so that no other parent will ever have to hear the words “your child has cancer” and that no other child will have to endure what our children have gone through.

Thank you for supporting RELAY FOR LIFE and the AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY.

Team For The Kids

** Checks may be made payable to : AMERICAN CANCER SOCIETY

You can mail your donation to:
Josie Ritter
8192 Harrington Lane NE
Moses Lake, WA 98837

