Pride and Prejudice has to be my favorite story.  Once David and I were married and under the same roof, he was a trooper and painfully watched all three movie versions of this epic story three Friday nights in a row with me.  Hey, he is my Mr. Darcy.

I knew I was in the right place, when upon arrival to the Captivating Retreat in Colorado, Stasi Eldridge, asked which common Fairy Tales capture our hearts as women.  The girl right behind me shouted out enthusiastically “Pride and Prejudice”.  I had arrived.

This four day retreat was nourishment for my soul.  Over three hundred women attended with expectant hearts to worship and adore the leading man in their lives…Jesus.  It took my breath away and the Holy Spirit showed up!

Why would a Christian retreat be showing clips from Pride and Prejudice and many other heart pumping movies?  The premise for the retreat is based on a book Staci and her husband wrote together called “Captivating”.  These stories that get our heart longing with love and adventure are because we are apart of a larger more beautiful and dangerous love story.  Our hearts bear the image of God and they are longing to be pursued, needed and be beautiful.

I thought it was comical that there was a pack of tissues under each seat in the conference room.  Little did I know that I was going to cry buckets of tears and have to borrow everyone else’s, because I ran out on the first or second day!

I have so much to share and so little time!  If you have never read the book “Captivating” or if you are a man “Wild at Heart”, I encourage you to do so. You may be able to pick them up for free at paperbackswap.com.  I yearn for the Word of God like I had years ago.  I am so thankful for their ministry.

Lydia went to clinic this week.  Her labs looked great!  We have to go back on Monday, because we need 17cc’s of blood to send to Seattle for her two years post transplant bleeding.  Her re-birthday is coming up quickly!  My only concerns are that she is still having slight GVHD (bone marrow rejecting her body).  It is controlled with topical steroids on her skin.  Also, her stomach has been MILDLY upset since I went on the retreat.  Gut GVHD is a possibility.    Lydia was also dehydrated.  I have such a hard time getting her to drink all that she should.  Please join me in prayer against these details.

I also have a prayer request for baby Piper.  She is nine months old now, but was diagnosed with infant leukemia (ALL) when she was only 10 weeks old.  My understanding is that she is doing well in her chemotherapy protocol, but it is a LONG road.  Please pray for Piper’s complete healing and restoration.  My heart goes out to her mother Susanna.  Please pray for Piper’s whole family that their hearts would be healed.

