Surgery went very well this morning.  Lydia’s tubes went in easily and she PASSED her hearing test with flying colors.  The only test of the ABR that wasn’t performed was low frequency, which shouldn’t affect her speech at all!  They did tell me with her particular chemotherapy that was used that hearing loss is still a possibility for the future.  I am just thrilled that it is not now, and language should follow!

OK, I have a confession to make.  I showed my rear today.  At Children’s in Birmingham, parents are not allowed to be with their children as they drift off to sleep or during recovery when they wake up.  I get it, you don’t want a parent in the way if a child goes blue and has to be resuscitated.  In Seattle’s Children’s, I was allowed at both sides of anesthesia, to comfort her and make her feel safe.

The whole point is that most of her anesthesia, I have seen first hand her response.  I know what is normal for her.  Well today, they brought her to me after recovery screaming and thrashing about.  This is not normal for her…AT ALL.  When I expressed my concerns, the nurse said that it is a normal response.  That is when I went into fight or flight mode.  Sally said I looked like I was about to start punching (oops).  I finally convinced her to contact the anesthesiologist. Who said she could have Tylenol.  That ticked me off too.  I was thinking, no way will Tylenol calm her down.  I spoke with Dr. Cook, who couldn’t hear me over Lydia screaming.  Twenty minutes later she came down to our room and Lydia was peachy keen…Tylenol worked just fine (double oops).   I was so embarrassed for overreacting so badly.

Thank you God for nurses that love children enough to deal with the parents!  And thank you for such a smooth surgery.

