Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

I hope that your New Year is filled with Love, Joy, Peace, and Hope.  I do not know what is to come in our future, but I know that God is in control.  I take comfort in that!  We had a fabulous Christmas.  It was a true 36o from last year and practically that many days later.  Christmas was filled with so many more presents than we had expected.  My boys were so excited with all of their new toys.  Lydia was too.  She got a baby doll that she went gaga over.  Don’t get me wrong, she still like cars and trucks, but the whole baby doll thing is right up her alley.
 
We went to Children’s Hospital on Christmas Day to deliver gift bags to the hem-onc patients.  The bags included a variety of items for all different age groups as well as $25 gas gift cards for the parents/caregivers.  Thank you to all that contributed to the fabulous bags.  We quickly handed them off from room to room, until we got closer to the end.  By then we felt more comfortable and less rushed.  Several of the families offered to unwrap the bags in front of them.  It was wonderful meeting these great fighters. 
 
We had a few bags left over, so we went to the nurses station that was close by.  I asked the nurses if they would like the gifts for the kids and out of one of the rooms was one of the closest nurses to have served Lydia and me.  She was there inpatient with her sweet baby (who was doing very well) but had a scare and had to spend Christmas at the hospital.  I had the honor of serving her, in the tiniest way, on this very special way.  It gives me chills to think about praying for these children beforehand not knowing I was praying for this special family. 
 
God has shown me Himself in miracles and wonders throughout the last year.  My faith has stretched.  I haven’t felt  spiritual or anything but unworthy and human since I have been home, but amazingly I know He is wanting to share more of Himself with little ole me (and little ole you).  Since being aware of this sweet wooing He is doing, I have been aware of bad attitudes that I have and bad things that come out of my mouth.  Why would God want to share MORE of Himself with me?  Because I need Him.  I needed Him before my daughter was sick, I needed Him during her battle with cancer, and I need Him now too. 
 
Life is hard, but God is good.
 
Many blessings to you and yours,
Liz
 
 
 
