So, it has been way too long since my last update.  We are still home away from home at the Ronald McDonald House.  Last Friday, a lot of Lydia’s meds were changed.  She is no longer on overnight fluids!  But all of that change led up to a scare over the weekend when Lydia’s respiratory rate doubled.  So far none of the med changes fit with the respiratory increase.  I have been monitoring it like crazy and have taken her to clinic multiple times, just to check on her out.  Clinically she looks great, but the breathing is a mystery.  She was given a nasal swab to check for viruses.  Fast breathing can be a precurser to infection in babies.  I get results back tomorrow (Friday).  I took her in for two x-rays this week.  Both times multiple pictures were taken to check out EVERYTHING they could think of.  The films looked great (except for the huge amount of gas in her tummy.)  It is possible that all of the gas could be pressing on her lungs, making it harder for her to take in air normally.  Gas could be caused by the additional magnesium and potassium she is taking by mouth.

I take her temperature twice a day and tonight her temp hit 100.4!  100.5 is the magic number that would put her in the hospital for a minimum of 48 hours.  Her temperature is going down thankfully.  I want her to be safe and well… AND I want to stay “home”.  Tomorrow is my baby boys second birthday, and I have been so excited planning the party.  On Tuesday, we all made invitations to my sons stuffed animals to attend the party.  It has been so much fun.  I really hope that we can be together as a family and celebrate.

So that is what is going on here.  Thanks so much for all of your messages.  It is so encouraging reading my guestbook and comments.

Thanks again,

Liz

