So Sunday, I repeatedly got a phone call from a strange number on my cell phone. I answered the phone…

“Hello.”

“?Hola?”

“Hello.”

“?Hola?”

“I’m sorry you have the wrong number.” Click.

I thought that was that. Oh how wrong I was. So they called again immediately…

“Hello?”

“?Hola?”

“Wrong number.”

“?Hola, hola, hola?”

“Wrong number.”

“?Hola?”…Click.

Well, she continued to call. Over and over and over. You get the picture. I was no loner answering. My sister was with me during this insanity and she encouraged me to call the number back, you know, in case it was a kid or something.

So I call the number back and a woman answered…

“?Hola?”

“You’re calling the wrong number.”

“?Hola?”

“Wrong numero. No intiendo.”

Then she said some things I could not understand.

“No hablo espanol.”

“!Habla!” She said this real sarcastically. Click.

I couldn’t believe she corrected my grammar. My sister busted out laughing. Well, she continued to call, but I was done with her game. I reverse looked up her number. OK, U.S. numbers only have 10 digits, this one had 11. Yikes! I had called a foreign country and didn’t know it.

As she continued to call me back so many times that I felt like crying, because I was so freaked out. Instead I let the music on my cell phone ring and encouraged the kids to dance around the house. Every time the phone rang they would get there disco pointing fingers out.

I called AT&T Monday morning first thing. They noted my account and said that I wouldn’t be billed for the call, but they couldn’t block the number.

Thankfully, the woman only called me 5 to 10 more times that day. I may have to get a new number soon.

